DE | EN | FR | NL

Questions and answers

• Which renewable raw material is used for NMC Naturefoam®?

 

NMC Naturefoam® is predominantly manufactured from polyethylene on the basis of sugar cane. The bio-polyethylene used as the raw material for the NMC Naturefoam® PE foams is manufactured from ethanol, which is in turn produced from sugar cane.

 

• What is the big advantage of renewable raw materials?

 

CO2 emission in the entire production process, from cradle to the factory gate, could be reduced to zero. In the production of the previous CLIMAFLEX® formulation, these emissions amounted to 62,8 kg CO2 per m3 of foam, whereas in common rubber insulation they even come to between 200-220 kg per m³ of foam.

The use of renewable raw materials also protects resources, because fossil raw materials are preserved.

 

• Is Amazonian rain forest destroyed by the cultivation of sugar cane in Brazil?

 

90% of the sugar cane plantations lie in the central south of the country, 2,500 km away from the Amazonian rain forests, and are cultivated there with social responsibility. Brazil has 330 million hectares of cropland. Only 1.4% of this area is used to produce ethanol from sugar cane. The use of the agricultural areas is checked and monitored by the legislator.

 

• How do renewable raw materials behave in an overall examination of the ecobalance?

 

In addition to the positive climate and energy values, an ecobalance encompasses further environmental parameters for renewable raw materials in agriculture. NMC's suppliers continually attempt to optimise these environmental effects.

 

• Why has NMC developed Naturefoam® foam?

 

In developing Naturefoam®, NMC would like to contribute towards the Paris climate protection treaty agreed in Paris at the end of 2015. The treaty specifies that global warming is to be kept well below 2 degrees Celsius in order to counteract climate change. NMC Naturefoam® makes a double contribution towards achieving the goals of the climate protection treaty, firstly through the climate-friendly material itself and secondly through the insulating action of the pipe insulation.  As a family-run company, we also regard Naturefoam® as part of our task as a responsible company.

 

• Where is NMC Naturefoam® currently in use?

 

NMC Naturefoam® is offered as standard for technical pipe insulations. These include the well-known NMC quality brand CLIMAFLEX® (CLIMAFLEX®, CLIMAFLEX® XT, CLIMAFLEX® STABIL and EXZENTROFLEX® COMPACT).

Renewable raw materials are used for packaging and industrial products at the customer's request.

 

• Is NMC Naturefoam® compostable?

 

NMC Naturefoam® is a bio-based plastic that is not compostable. Compostability would have no ecological or economical advantage with regard to NMC's products. On the contrary – it is important to NMC that the products can be processed in established collection and recycling systems after use

 

 

 

 

More information

The company NMC

Disclaimer

Press

Social Media

contact

NMC sa

Gert-Noël-Strasse

B-4731 Eynatten

Tel: + 32 87 85 85 00

Fax: + 32 87 85 85 11

E-mail: info@nmc.eu

Internet: www.nmc.eu

DE | EN | FR | NL

Fragen & Antworten

• Welcher nachwachsende Rohstoff wird für NMC Naturefoam® eingesetzt?

 

NMC Naturefoam® wird überwiegend aus Polyethylen auf Basis von Zuckerrohr hergestellt. Aus Zuckerrohr wird Ethanol produziert, aus dem Bio-Polyethylen hergestellt wird, der Ausgangsstoff für NMC Naturefoam® PE-Schäume.

 

• Was ist der große Vorteil nachwachsender Rohstoffe?

 

Bei der Herstellung von CLIMAFLEX® aus NMC Naturefoam®werden die  CO2 Emissionen im gesamten Herstellungsprozess, von der Wiege bis zum Werkstor, auf Null gesenkt. Bei der Herstellung der vorherigen CLIMAFLEX® Formulierung waren dies 62,8 kg CO2 pro m3 Schaum, bei gängigen Kautschukisolierungen fallen sogar Emissionen zwischen 200-220 kg CO2 pro m3 Schaum an.

Der Einsatz nachwachsender Rohstoffe ist zudem Ressourcenschutz, denn fossile Rohstoffe werden geschont.

 

• Werden durch Zuckerrohranbau in Brasilien Regenwälder im Amazonas zerstört?

 

90% der Zuckerrohrplantagen liegen im Zentralsüden des Landes, 2.500 km von den Amazonen-Regenwäldern entfernt und werden dort mit sozialer Verantwortung angebaut. Brasilien besitzt 330 Millionen Hektar Ackerbauland. Nur 1,4% von diesen Flächen werden benutzt, um Ethanol aus Zuckerrohr herzustellen. Die Nutzung der landwirtschaftlichen Flächen wird durch den Gesetzgeber geprüft und überwacht.

 

• Wie verhalten sich nachwachsende Rohstoffe bei einer gesamten Ökobilanz-Betrachtung?

 

Neben den positiven Klima- und Energiewerten umfasst eine Ökobilanz weitere Umweltparameter bei nachwachsenden Rohstoffen in der Landwirtschaft. Die Lieferanten von NMC versuchen diese Umweltauswirkungen stets zu optimieren.

 

• Warum hat NMC den Naturefoam® Schaumstoff entwickelt?

 

NMC möchte mit der Entwicklung von Naturefoam® seinen Beitrag zum Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen leisten, das Ende 2015 in Paris verabschiedet wurde. Darin ist festgehalten, dass die Erderwärmung auf deutlich unter 2 Grad begrenzt werden soll, um dem Klimawander entgegenzuwirken. Durch das klimafreundliche Material selbst sowie die dämmende Wirkung der Rohrisolierung trägt NMC Naturefoam® doppelt dazu bei, die Ziele des Klimaschutzabkommens zu erreichen.  Als Familienunternehmen sehen wir Naturefoam® auch als Teil unserer Aufgabe als verantwortungsbewußtes Unternehmen.

 

• Wo findet NMC Naturefoam® aktuell Verwendung?

 

NMC Naturefoam® wird bei technischen Rohrisolierungen standardmäßig angeboten. Hierzu zählt die bekannte NMC-Qualitätsmarke CLIMAFLEX® (CLIMAFLEX®, CLIMAFLEX® XT, CLIMAFLEX® STABIL und EXZENTROFLEX® COMPACT).

Bei Verpackungen und Industrieprodukten werden auf Anfrage von Kunden nachwachsende Rohstoffe eingesetzt.

 

• Ist NMC Naturefoam® kompostierbar?

 

NMC Naturefoam® ist ein biobasierter Kunststoff, der nicht kompostierbar ist. Kompostierbarkeit hätte bei NMC Produkten keinen ökologischen oder wirtschaftlichen Vorteil. Im Gegenteil ist es NMC sogar wichtig, dass die Produkte nach Gebrauch in etablierten Erfassungs- und Recyclingsystemen behandelt werden können.

 

 

weiterführende informationen

Das Unternehmen NMC

Impressum

Presse

Social Media

kontakt

NMC Deutschland GmbH

Weiherhausstraße 8b

D-64646 Heppenheim

Tel: + 49 62 52 96 70

Fax: + 49 62 52 96 74 44

E-Mail: info@nmc-deutschland.de

Internet: www.nmc-deutschland.de